Header image  
Information about the
line decor
line decor


The European Union (EU) is currently comprised of 27 countries. The EU is based on the former European Community (EC) and founded to enhance political, economic and social co-operation. In 1993, the EU was established with the members of the European Community by the Treaty of Maastricht. The European Union has about 495 million citizens, and generates an estimated 30 percent share of the nominal gross domestic product in the world.
The European Union has a standardized system of laws which apply in all member states. That guarantees the freedom of movement for the people, goods, services, and capital. Also the member countries have a common trade policy (for agriculture and fishing, in example). 15 out of the 27 member countries have adopted the currency Euro...
Again, the goal of the European Union is "Peace, prosperity and freedom for its 495 million citizens — in a fairer, safer world."